Garden Tractor Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I picked up my first loader yesterday... well, first functional loader at least. I have an early Danco manual trip bucket but it needs a lot of work.

I think it's a Johnson Model 14? I can't tell if the subframe was modified from another brand or if it's had some repairs/modifications done; I'm no expert on these things. It leaks down fairly quick, one of the tilt cylinders has a bad leak so I ordered some o-rings and seals to rebuild them all. The pistons themselves appear to be in excellent shape.

It was originally advertised as a loader with a free tractor. The tractor, while ugly, appears to be in good shape. The gears all work and it shifts easily enough. There's still plenty of clutch material left. The weight box is heavily loaded. The only issues appear to be steering and engine related. The steering doesn't work much of the time, but after poking around I think the sector simply needs a shim or two. The motor smokes pretty bad, and not knowing it's history I'll probably just put a different one on.

I'm contemplating swapping the loader onto a 1256 hydro in the future, but I'll get it working properly on this tractor and see how it goes. In the past few years I've moved from automatic to manual transmission vehicles, so that may be sacrilege.

Anyhow, I figured some of you might enjoy seeing it. Certainly not original but that's hardly surprising.

Wheel Plant Tire Vehicle Automotive tire
Wheel Tire Vehicle Plant Automotive tire
Automotive tire Wood Grass Motor vehicle Automotive exterior
Plant Wheel Automotive tire Wood Tire
Automotive tire Motor vehicle Bumper Vehicle Automotive lighting
Plant Sun hat Grass Hat Automotive tire
Shoe Automotive tire Green Plant Motor vehicle
Wood Grass Plant Gas Metal
Wood Grass Gas Groundcover Rectangle

·
Mark J.
2,350 Posts