Garden Tractor Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
MMMMmmmm DIESEL
476 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Who here has been into the Ducati 2IS22/ Wisconsin wd2-860? Currently trying to diagnose my slow wind up and excessive white smoke.

Injectors were rebuilt with new nozzles and set at the correct pressure last year, measured the rack actuating rod it was correct, Governor flyweights seems to be working and in spec. Rack seems to move free.

I'm down to thinking the timing is to far advanced, I've heard of the motors slipping the gear on the cam.

How tough is it to reset the timing? Is there a fix for the gear slippage?

I'm really trying not to do an engine swap cause I like originality, but I got a Lombardini 10ld-400-2 that would power it adequately and I'd have parts availability and it'd be an easy swap.

·
Registered
1,837 Posts
If you suspect the cam timing is off you can probably check it with a cam degree wheel, and dial indicator. I couldn't help with pump specs, but I'm sure someone else can.

Have you run a compression test on it? Any blowby on the block?

·
Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for yo
8,677 Posts
Are you running a fuel management system on it like a PC III or Fuel pak? If so I would remove it first and then see what it does.

·
Tractorholic
988 Posts
Do you have the shop manual for the Wiscon/Ducati engine? If not, I uploaded it to the manuals section some time ago.

·
MMMMmmmm DIESEL
476 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Have not done a compression test but it's got plenty to run.

Yes I do have the manual but it's on my phone and is in 4 different languages. It's also pretty vague.

Think I'm gonna pull the motor so I can work on it on the bench

Reactions: blackjackjakexxix

·
Registered
1,837 Posts
Have not done a compression test but it's got plenty to run.
Yes I do have the manual but it's on my phone and is in 4 different languages. It's also pretty vague.
Think I'm gonna pull the motor so I can work on it on the bench