Garden Tractor Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everybody, I am kinda new to garden tractor restoration. I bought my mf 12g a few months ago. I found out it is a 1975. It also has no brakes. I see a spot under the left rear fender where something mounts. When the clutch/brake peddle is pressed, this belt like hoop piece wants to grab something, but that something isn't there. I assume its a brake drum of some sort. I have no clue if I am calling it the right name or not. Not even sure where to find one. Thanks for any help. As soon as I can, I'll post some pictures.

·
Super Moderator
54,363 Posts
Welcome to the forum. One of the Massey folk will help out soon. Pic help can be found in my signature.

Reactions: Jacksdad

·
Registered
10,120 Posts
Welcome to GTT. Relax and enjoy the site. Check in our Manuals Section for 3 free downloads per day. It does sound like the brake drum has fallen off. Chances are it is a standard drum and readily available. BTW, that is a great tractor. We would like to see pictures. Good Luck, Rick

·
Super Moderator
14,167 Posts
Welcome to GTTalk. Have a look in our Manuals section for a MF12 service manual. It should give you the info. you need. You may be able to get the needed parts from one of our forum sponsors.

·
Tractorholic
3,097 Posts
One of the best sources for some information about your tractor is the agcopartsbooks.com site. You can enter using the "guest" button, then search for "12 tractor" and "Massey Ferguson" brand. That will bring up a list and you should find "12 tractor" in that list. Ignore the other models that will show up and go to that one and you'll have an exploded parts listing of all the various assemblies that go into the tractor. Here is a shot of what I think you are talking about.

Automotive tire Organism Font Motor vehicle Rim

Welcome to GTTalk, look forward to seeing more from you.