Garden Tractor Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Hi Forum,

I am new here and just got a Simplicity Model D (S/N 30760) and had some questions;

- Can anyone confirm the year of manufacture?

- What is the model of the engine? I am having a hard time determining HP as I've found various ranges from 1.5, 1.9 and 2.0 HP

- Is the manual available anywhere? The one I found on pinned on this forum is for and L (very similar I guess)

- Is there a good source for engine parts (i.e., head gasket, muffler, carb kit)?

I am new at this but have always wanted a walk behind and ran across this one.

Any help is much appreciated and Merry Christmas, Chris

Attachments

·
DB restorer
2,850 Posts
heres my model D, a 1948 tractor roughly. Simp used the N briggs, but the same tractor in a Wards would have had a Clinton on it. You looks to have a 700 series Clinton engine, so maybe some cross breeding has happened here. My tractor is pretty original, but the fuel tank is wrong, because at the time that's all I had to put on it.

Tire Wheel Plant Vehicle Automotive tire
Wheel Tire Motor vehicle Grass Automotive tire

Attachments

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks for the responses and picture. Yes my engine is a Clinton 700-A 2 Hp with a Tillotson ML carburetor I see now.

I'd love to find a planter setup like Lauber1 has. Gorgeous. Sickle bar is cool Craftsman!

Did Simplicity manufacture them for Montgomery Ward as well? I'm curious if mine is a replacement or might have come with the machine...

·
DB restorer
2,850 Posts
  • you could have bought a replacement engine thru the Monkey Wards catalog, and it could have been anything they offered. I would guess tha t lots guys put Clintons on, simply because they cost less, than a briggs did. unless your trying to restore to original, and this engine runs I'd just leave it on there.

·
Registered
10,192 Posts