Garden Tractor Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to older garden tractors. I just got a Simplicity Sunstar 20 with possibly a blown motor for $200. That is going to be on order soon. This mower does not have a rear PTO. My question is how hard is it to add a PTO? Thank you in advance.

·
Super Moderator
54,164 Posts
:wave: Welcome to the forum! I'll let the folks in the know answer your questions.

·
Registered
786 Posts
In general GT pto's are hard to find cause they are specific to the make/model and not many were ordered back in the day.

I'd try to get it running and make sure the big stuff works before dropping much coin. Unless you trust whoever you got it from or saw it run recently...

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
It ran through most of last year before the motor went. I used it a few times myself. Everything worked great.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Ok. I looked at it closer and there is a little shaft fairly far inside the assume is the transmission with splines on it. I can imagine that the drive line to run attachments would be that long. I know it didn't come with a rear PTO because it only has a switch for the front. So my question is do I only need what was connected to that shaft and to wire a switch and clutch? Or could I hook up to that shaft and just run the PTO live?

·
Nut Case
1,940 Posts